HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
99 Days

99 DAYS

by: Cotugno, Katie
Format: Hardcover

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother. Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly's heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I'm serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done. Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn't finished. I'm expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it's just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. "For what it's worth, Molly Barlow," he says, "I'm really glad you're back." Day 12: Gabe wouldn't quit till he got me to come to this party, and I'm surprised to find I'm actually having fun. I think he's about to kiss me—and that's when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who's supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who's never going to forgive me. From School Library Journal Gr 9 Up—Molly Barlow is back in her hometown near the Catskill Mountains. A year ago, Molly fled to a faraway boarding school in the wake of a disastrous betrayal that left her the most hated girl in town. Now that she's back, all of her fears are justified—the girls who used to be her friends want nothing to do with her, especially not the Donnelly siblings, who used to be her closest friends. The teen plans to lie low and wait out the rest of the summer until she can escape and start over in college. She is getting used to all the bullying, when the arrival of the two Donnelly boys turns her world upside-down. Patrick, Molly's first boyfriend, has a new girlfriend who doesn't seem to hate Molly despite her past transgressions. And Gabe is there for her when nobody else seems to care if she exists. When Gabe wants to spark up a romance, Molly starts to feel like she may be able to right some wrongs and put her past behind her. But things are never simple, and Molly finds herself dreading as well as clamoring for the 99 days of summer to be over. This coming-of-age story is dramatic and wickedly funny, and the protagonist's voice will speak to any teen facing an uncertain future. VERDICT This book will appeal to fans of E. Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks (Hyperion, 2008), offering complex characters, plot twists, and an insightful look at society's double standards.—Tara Kron, School Library Journal Review Praise for 9 DAYS AND 9 NIGHTS: “A sequel that’s just as compulsively readable as the first.” ( Booklist) Praise for 9 DAYS AND 9 NIGHTS: “With realistic depictions of complicated, imperfect personalities, this book will be enjoyed by fans of … Sarah Dessen and E. Lockhart.” (School Library Journal) Praise for TOP TEN: “A winning, highly readable exploration of different kinds of love.” ( Booklist) Praise for TOP TEN: “Endearing and refreshing” ( Kirkus Reviews) Praise for TOP TEN: “Sensitive and honest...will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)) Praise for TOP TEN: “A good choice for most YA shelves.” (School Library Journal) Praise for FIREWORKS: “A compelling portrait of the intimacies of close girl friendships …and a romance as hot as the midsummer Orlando sun” ( Kirkus Reviews) Praise for FIREWORKS: “Cotugno hits the nail on the head when exploring female friendship and the difficulties surrounding life in the spotlight. This devourable novel will appeal to those interested in the creation of fame, but also to any girl on the cusp of change.” ( Booklist) Praise for FIREWORKS: “[A] fast-paced drama about the significance of authentic friendship and romance.” (School Library Journal) Praise for FIREWORKS: “A thrilling, intense read

Details

Product Code: 9780062216380
ISBN: 0062216384
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Number of Pages: 384 pages
Languages: english
Edition: No Information
Dimension: 5.39 x 1.3 x 8.11 inches
Shipping Weight: 1 pounds