HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Dress for the Wicked

A DRESS FOR THE WICKED

by: Krause, Autumn
Format: Hardcover

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description The high-stakes fashion scene of a reimagined nineteenth century Europe takes center stage in this YA debut perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe. Review “Set in an alternate Victorian London–like past, this blends competition and cooperation for compelling drama. A unique debut with plenty of flair.” ( Booklist) “Krause deftly handles the oft-belittled personal and political power of clothing, and fans of couture and fabulous fashion will enjoy the extravagant clothing and glamorous world that Emmy is determined to enter.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books) “No one expects Emmaline, a girl from the country, will have anything to offer. Forced to adapt to a ruthless environment, Emmaline will surprise them — and surprise herself, too. If you binge Project Runway and gobble down YA dystopias, then A Dress For the Wicked is for you.” (Refinery 29) From the Back Cover The high-stakes fashion scene of a reimagined nineteenth century Europe takes center stage in this YA debut perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe. True to its name, the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-Upon-Kynt is a place where nothing much happens. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing. But when Madame Jolene, the head of the most prestigious fashion house in the country, throws open her annual design competition to girls from outside the stylish capitol city, Emmy's dreams seem closer than they ever have before. After all, no one is ever going to see Emmy's grand, lavish dresses if she stays behind the bar in her mother's pub. There may not be room for her talent in Shy, but if she can make it to the capitol and into the competition, she and her designs could make their mark on the world forever. As the first "country girl" to compete, Emmy knows she'll encounter extra hurdles on her way to the top. But there are surprises around every corner in the Fashion House, and distractions--from unexpected romance to competitors set on sabotage--threaten to derail Emmy's concentration for good. As Emmy navigates the twisted world of high fashion, she starts to wonder: will she be able to tailor herself to fit into this dark, corrupted race? And at what cost? About the Author Autumn Krause was born and raised in Los Angeles, California. She attended Biola University for her undergrad and worked as a wedding gown stylist at an upscale bridal salon in Beverly Hills while getting her MFA in creative writing for children and young adults. She lives in Orange County, California, with her husband and daughter. She can be found online at www.autumnkrause.com.

Details

Product Code: 9780062857330
ISBN: 0062857339
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Number of Pages: 400 pages
Languages: english
Edition: No Information
Dimension: 5.91 x 1.3 x 8.46 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds