HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Home in the Barn

A HOME IN THE BARN

by: Brown, Margaret Wise
Format: Hardcover

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description An Indie Next List Pick! "A glorious tribute to Brown's timeless classic." —Booklist (starred review) Perfect for fans of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and Big Red Barn, this never-before-published picture book from beloved children’s book author Margaret Wise Brown tells the comforting, snowy story of animals seeking shelter from the cold in a big warm barn. Brought to beautiful life by Caldecott Medalist and multiple award-winner Jerry Pinkney, this is a must-have for every child’s library and is perfect for cozy wintertime readings. Outside in the cold, hear the wind rattle, come to the barn, keep warm with the cattle... Review “A glorious tribute to Brown’s timeless classic.” ( Booklist (starred review)) “The gentle, descriptive text and appealing illustrations succeed in establishing an atmosphere of a warm, crowded, noisy barn where everyone is safe and sheltered.” ( Kirkus Reviews) “Brown describes the cozy animal activity with reassuring, repeating lines… [and] like the barn itself, Pinkney’s paintings offer a warm refuge for readers to return to.” ( Publishers Weekly) “A particularly good bedtime read.” (The Horn Book) From the Back Cover Outside in the cold Hear the wind rattle Come to the barn Keep warm with the cattle. As the chilly winter approaches, all the animals—from the horses to the cattle to the cat and the mice—find coziness and comfort in the warmth of the barn and one another. From beloved children’s book author Margaret Wise Brown, this heartwarming picture book is told in soothing verse and brought to life with beautifully detailed illustrations by Caldecott Medalist Jerry Pinkney. About the Author Margaret Wise Brown, cherished for her unique ability to convey a child’s experience and perspective of the world, transformed the landscape of children’s literature with such beloved classics as Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny. Other perennial favorites by Ms. Brown include My World; Christmas in the Barn; The Dead Bird; North, South, East, West; and Good Day, Good Night. Jerry Pinkney is one of America’s most admired children’s book illustrators. He has won the Caldecott Medal and five Caldecott Honors, five Coretta Scott King Awards, the Coretta Scott King–Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, the Society of Illustrators’ Original Art Show Lifetime Achievement Award, and many other prizes and honors. Jerry Pinkney lives with his wife, author Gloria Jean Pinkney, in Westchester County, New York. You can visit him online at www.jerrypinkneystudio.com. In His Own Words... "I grew up in a small house in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I was a middle child of six. I started drawing as far back as I can remember, at the age of four or five. My brothers drew, and I guess in a way I was mimicking them. I found I enjoyed the act of putting marks on paper. It gave me a way of creating my own space and quiet time, as well as a way of expressing myself. You can imagine six children competing for attention and to be heard. I would sit, watching and drawing. "In first grade I had the opportunity to draw a large picture of a fire engine on the blackboard. I was complimented and encouraged to draw more. The attention felt good, and I wanted more. I was not a terrific reader or adept speller in my growing-up years, and I felt insecure in those areas. Drawing helped me build my self-esteem and feel good about myself, and, with hard work, I graduated from elementary school with honors. "I attended an all-black elementary school, and I gained a strong sense of self and an appreciation of my own culture there. But Roosevelt Junior High was integrated. There I had many friends, both white and black, at a time when there was little mixing socially in school. There the spark for my curiosity about people was lit. You can see this interest and fascination with people of different cultures throughout my work. "My formal art training started a

Details

Product Code: 9780066237879
ISBN: 0066237874
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Number of Pages: 32 pages
Languages: english
Edition: Illustrated
Dimension: 9.45 x 0.47 x 11.34 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds