HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Just Clause (A Booktown Mystery)

A JUST CLAUSE (A BOOKTOWN MYSTERY)

by: Barrett, Lorna
Format: Mass Market Paperback

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description Just when things are getting back to normal in Booktown, Tricia and Angelica have their lives turned upside down by a shocking visitor from their past in this cozy mystery in the New York Times bestselling series.  Tricia Miles, mystery bookstore owner and amateur sleuth, is in for a surprise when her ne’er-do-well father, John, comes to town—and promptly becomes a prime suspect in the murder of a woman with her own scandalous past. Even Tricia’s faith in the old man is shaken when the Stoneham police break the news that her father is a known con man who has done jail time.   But what about bestselling thriller author Steven Richardson? Is it a coincidence that he arrived for a book signing just before the crime or that the victim was found with a signed copy of his latest bestseller?   From merlot to murder, Tricia is determined to clear the family name before another body shows up and ruins Stoneham’s first—and highly anticipated—wine and jazz festival. INCLUDES RECIPES Review Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries “Diverting entertainment…An engaging story line, an intrepid heroine…Good for lovers of intrigue.”— Richmond Times-Dispatch “Lorna Barrett never fails to offer a suspenseful cozy mystery…Entertaining, highly enjoyable.”—Cozy Mystery Book Reviews “Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!…This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days “A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine…Delightful…Everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!”—Leann Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of The Cat, the Vagabond and the Victim “Lorna Barrett’s new cozy creation…has it all: wonderful old books, quirky characters, a clever mystery, and a cat named Miss Marple!”—Roberta Isleib, author of Asking for Murder “[A] delightful, and often funny, mystery series about a town that lives and dies by the love of books.”—Kings River Life Magazine “Tightly plotted and paced to keep you turning the pages, this series is indeed getting better with each book.”—Gumshoe Review “Charming…An engaging whodunit.”— Publishers Weekly About the Author Lorna Barrett is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including Poisoned Pages, A Just Clause,  Title Wave, A Fatal Chapter, and Book Clubbed. She lives in Rochester, New York. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. One Tricia Miles almost always felt a thrill to host a book signing at her mystery bookstore, Haven't Got a Clue, especially when it involved a favorite author. Tonight that author was Steven Richardson, known for writing New York Times and USA Today bestselling thrillers. Stacks of his latest hardcover, A Killing in Mad Gate, sat on a table at the front of the store. The weather was perfect for a signing: drizzling and gray. Now all she needed was for the guest of honor to arrive. Tricia's assistant, Pixie Poe, checked the big pink watch on her left wrist. "He's late," she sang. To honor the author, Pixie had chosen a fuchsia floral dress that had been made at least six decades before, and, despite her rather chunky frame, the dress not only fit as though it had been made for her, but was actually quite flattering, giving her an hourglass figure that she seemed to enjoy flaunting. This month, she was again a blonde, and when she smiled, her gold canine tooth flashed. She'd been smiling a lot that evening—every time she glanced at the modest diamond solitaire on her left hand. Her newly minted fiancé, Fred Pillins, was a nondescript kind of fellow who matched Pixie in years—about fifty. He stood near the back of the store, camera in hand, trying to look inconspicuous—except that his fond gaze rarely strayed from Pixie. He seemed to en

Details

Product Code: 9780399585937
ISBN: 0399585931
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Number of Pages: 304 pages
Languages: english
Edition: Reprint
Dimension: 4.21 x 1.3 x 6.5 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.3 pounds