HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Necessary End: An Inspector Banks Novel (Inspector Banks Novels)

A NECESSARY END: AN INSPECTOR BANKS NOVEL (INSPECTOR BANKS NOVELS)

by: Robinson, Peter
Format: Paperback

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense—from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson—spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder. A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence in the offing. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds. Almost immediately, Burgess descends with vengeful fury upon the members of a sixties-style commune—while Banks sifts through the rich Yorkshire soil around him, turning over the earthy, unsettling secrets of seemingly placid local lives. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn't unmask the true assassin, his superior's misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed. Peter Robinson once again explores the human psyche in a novel that demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences. From the Back Cover “An exceptional series.”—Washington Post A peaceful demonstration in the town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence to come. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn’t unmask the true assassin, his superior’s misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed. A masterful novel of suspense, A Necessary End demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences. “A rich, multi-layered book, elegantly written and carefully plotted.”—Virginian Pilot and Ledger-Star “Watch out for those twists—they’ll get you every time.”—Ian Rankin About the Author One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the best-selling, award-winning author of the DCI Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three stand-alone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy Martin Beck Award.

Details

Product Code: 9780062416612
ISBN: 0062416618
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: 2015-11-10
Number of Pages: 416 pages
Languages: english
Edition: Reissue
Dimension: 5.87 x 0.71 x 8.43 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.79 pounds