HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Rule Against Murder: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

A RULE AGAINST MURDER: A CHIEF INSPECTOR GAMACHE NOVEL

by: Penny, Louise
Format: Mass Market Paperback

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description It is the height of summer, and Armand Gamache and his wife are celebrating their wedding anniversary at an isolated, luxurious inn not far from the village of Three Pines. But they’re not alone. The Finney family—rich, cultured, and respectable—has also arrived for a celebration of their own… As the heat rises and the humidity closes in, some surprising guests turn up at the Finney reunion…and a terrible summer storm leaves behind a dead body. Now it’s up to Chief Inspector Gamache to unearth long-buried secrets and hatreds hidden behind polite smiles. The chase takes him to Three Pines—into the dark corners of his own life, and finally to a harrowing climax. Review “Penny applies her magic touch…giving the village mystery an elegance and depth not often seen in this traditional genre.”—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review “Decades from now, I suspect we’ll look upon the works of Louise Penny and find all sorts of marvels....It’s the way she tweaks the rules of Golden Age Detective Fiction but doesn’t shy away from attitudes, mores, and slang that is thoroughly modern....The temptation is to scarf Penny’s books like potato chips but it’s ever wise to savor each bite and let the flavors fill your tongue.”—Sarah Weinman, Los Angeles Times “This latest treat will keep fans salivating in anticipation, savoring each delectable morsel and yearning for more.”—Kirkus Review (starred review) “A fine read…in true Christie-like fashion.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer “Readers who haven’t discovered Louise Penny and her Armand Gamache series yet are in for a treat.”—Booklist (starred review) “Seamless, often lyrical prose artfully reveals the characters’ flaws, dreams, and blessings.”—Publishers Weekly “At least two people are waiting very impatiently for this review to be done so I can pass the new Louise Penny along to them. With just her fourth book, she already has that kind of (well-deserved) following….After a fabulous summer storm, a body is found and Gamache’s homicide team moves into the luxury hotel to sift clues and dine on grand hotel food. (Even the snacks in these books are mouthwatering.)” —Charlotte Observer “[Penny’s] psychological acumen, excellent prose, and ingenious plotting make this essential reading for mystery lovers and admirers of superb literary fiction. Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, P.D. James, and Elizabeth George will also be delighted.” —Library Journal (starred review) “Powerful and uniquely imaginative, with prose that approaches the poetic…Penny concocts an intricate and intriguing plot and peoples it with credible characters and the continually fascinating Gamache.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch “Penny sets up an ingenious, impossible crime puzzle for the reader.” —The Denver Post “What a delight to have Inspector Gamache back on the scene. Penny does a superb job.” —Romantic Times From the Back Cover The outskirts of Three Pines might be surrounded by nature, but there is something unnatural looming. .. It is the height of summer, and Armand Gamache and his wife are celebrating their wedding anniversary at an isolated, luxurious inn not far from the village of Three Pines. But they’re not alone. The Finney family—rich, cultured, and respectable—has also arrived for a celebration of their own… A RULE AGAINST MURDER  As the heat rises and the humidity closes in, some surprising guests turn up at the Finney reunion…and a terrible summer storm leaves behind a dead body. Now it’s up to Chief Inspector Gamache to unearth long-buried secrets and hatreds hidden behind polite smiles. The chase takes him to Three Pines—into the dark corners of his own life, and finally to a harrowing climax. “If you don’t give your heart to Gamache, you may have no heart to give.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “A fine read…in true Christie-like fashion.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer  “Penny tweaks the rules of Golden Age Detective Fiction in a way that is thoroughly modern.”—Los Angeles Tim

Details

Product Code: 9780312365165
ISBN: 0312365160
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Number of Pages: 384 pages
Languages: english
Edition: Reprint
Dimension: 4.61 x 1.3 x 7.01 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds