HOME ABOUT BLOG CONTACT
A Stranger in Mayfair (Charles Lenox Mysteries)

A STRANGER IN MAYFAIR (CHARLES LENOX MYSTERIES)

by: Finch, Charles
Format: Hardcover

price comparison

loading

Description

Product Description Returning from a continental honeymoon with his lifelong friend and new wife, Lady Jane Grey, Charles Lenox is asked by a colleague in Parliament to consult in the murder of a footman, bludgeoned to death with a brick. His investigation uncovers both unsettling facts about the family he served and a strange, second identity that the footman himself cultivated. Going into the boxing clubs and public houses, the Mayfair mansions and servants’ quarter of Victorian London, Lenox gradually realizes that an old friend may be implicated in the footman’s death. Soon a suspect is arrested, but Lenox has his doubts. Desperately trying to balance the opening of Parliament and what he feels sure is a dark secret, he soon discovers that the killer is someone shockingly innocuous—who may be prepared to spill blood again, even a detective’s. In Detective Lenox, Lady Grey, and their circle of close associates, Charles Finch has created a cast of inviting, flesh-andblood characters. His evolving series, with its keen eye for period detail and razor-sharp plotting, offers readers an unparalleled brand of charm, sophistication, and suspense. From Publishers Weekly Set in 1860s London, Finch's middling fourth mystery featuring gentleman detective Charles Lenox (after 2009's The Fleet Street Murders) finds Lenox newly married to his longtime friend, Lady Jane Grey, and newly elected to Parliament. When Ludovic Starling, a slight acquaintance, asks Lenox to look into the bludgeoning murder of his footman, Frederick Clarke, Lenox, who wonders why Starling hasn't called in Scotland Yard, at first declines. In the end, despite the demands of his new vocation, Lenox agrees to help. The investigator, who's troubled to learn that Starling has been less than forthright with him, can't accept the police theory that a rival servant killed Clarke. Finch equips Lenox with his own Bunter in the person of a former butler turned political secretary, but the pair come across as weak, warmed-over versions of the golden age Dorothy Sayers originals. Portentous chapter endings undermine the otherwise solid prose. (Nov.) (c) Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From Booklist Charles Lenox, the gentleman detective, is now a member of Parliament. He just wants to focus on his new duties, including the preparation of his maiden speech. He is also settling into married life with Lady Jane Grey. Matters become more complicated when an old friend and fellow MP, Ludovic Starling, asks him to launch a discreet investigation into the death of one of his servants. With his assistants, John Dallington and Thomas McConnell, helping out, Lenox tries his best to balance his new political duties with the investigation. As he prowls through the pubs, boxing clubs, and servants’ quarters of Victorian London, he discovers some very dark secrets and finds himself in danger from a killer who is willing to strike again to keep him quiet. Finch (The Fleet Street Murders, 2009) captures the atmosphere of Victorian London and creates a solid British mystery that will appeal to both procedural and cozy readers. --Barbara Bibel Review “An absolute delight . . . Finch vividly brings 1860s London to life.” —USA Today “Readers of Anne Perry should be snatching up Finch’s books and clamoring for more.” —Library Journal (starred review) “Perfect for fans of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —The Wichita Eagle “A beguiling Victorian mystery.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review on The Fleet Street Murders “The best sort of historical mystery—clever, charming, full of period detail, and a delight to read.” —David Liss, author of The Devil’s Company, on A Beautiful Blue Death About the Author Charles Finch is a graduate of Yale and Oxford. He is the author of the Charles Lenox mysteries, including The Fleet Street Murders and The September Society. His first novel, A Beautiful Blue Death, was nominated

Details

Product Code: 9780312625061
ISBN: 0312625065
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Number of Pages: 320 pages
Languages: english
Edition: 1st Printing
Dimension: 5.79 x 1.18 x 8.11 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds